Fireworks Regulations

picture of fireworks

Fourth of July is all about food, fun, celebration of our freedom, and fireworks. However, learning how to celebrate by making sure you are aware of local firework regulations in your area is important. While the purchase of certain fireworks is permitted, it is important to make sure you know where they can be used.

The Town of Youngtown Town Code Section 9.15.020 prohibits the use, discharge or ignition of fireworks on all public property, including, but not limited to, public buildings, parking lots, public parks, public schools, streets and public right of way. Additionally, fireworks may be used from June 24th through July 6th of each year – all other times the use, discharge or ignition of permissible consumer fireworks is prohibited within the Town.  

Permissible consumer fireworks include all of the following:

  • Ground and handheld sparkling devices
  • Cylindrical fountains
  • Cone fountains
  • Illuminating torches
  • Wheels
  • Ground spinners
  • Flitter Sparklers
  • Toy smoke devices
  • Wire sparklers or dipped sticks

Federally deregulated novelty items like snappers, party poppers, snap caps, glow worms, snakes, toy smoke devices, sparklers, wheels are all great to use during this celebration. Fireworks intended to rise into the air and explode, detonate or fly above the ground are not permitted in the State of Arizona at any time.

If you have any questions, please contact Youngtown Code Enforcement at (623) 933-8286.